Daily Archives: January 5, 2011

“If You See Something, Say Something” or, Hungarian Rhapsody

[To the non-New York-based blog readers: Our Transit System displays posters advising us to report un-attended boxes and suitcases using the above slogan.] A box arrived in the New Year from Hungary.  We knew that Shandor Hassan had been acting … Continue reading

Posted in New Acquisitions | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

BBC The Strand Tribute to Ernest Cole

The Strand is a show that I am an ardent admirer of.  It is my culture podcast on my morning and evening commute.  I recently re-listened to one that was a tribute to the South African photographer Ernest Cole, whose … Continue reading

Posted in Seen and heard, Unpacking the collection | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Magic Dials

“These are a few of my favorite things,” chirped Maria von Trappe in The Sound of Music.  While I claim that the ICP Library is more than just books, I love the books.  This is one of my long-time favorites. … Continue reading

Posted in Unpacking the collection | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment